A QUESTION EVERYONE SHOULD ASK

image

“The world as we have created it
is a process of our thinking. It
cannot be changed without
changing our thinking.”
Albert Einstein

There are thousands and millions of questions that streams in and out of a man’s mind each day, every minute.

This way, we are easily distracted. And if it happens, it’s not necessarily our fault- but, it’s our fault when we don’t find a way to always get ourselves in check, to rethink, come back to the right thought.

Here’s a question to help with that; it as always been my compass, helping me achieve my goals.

Am I on the right track?

Are you?

According to Samuel Beckett, he said
If you don’t know where you are
currently standing, you’re dead.

So before now, there has to have been;
– An establishment as to what track you decide to keep on.
– what you need to achieve.
– What your goals are.
– How you intend to achieve them.
– when you intend to achieve them.

As we ask ourselves this question, we learn to conduct ourselves, we reduce our ability to be prone to things that do not concern our goals: distractions.
The question helps filter our thoughts- gaining a better chance to focus our thinking.

There are a lot that causes distractions in people’s life; the opposite sex, phones (screen sucking), TV….

And the worse… is when one does not even have anything to be distracted from; so there’s no course, no goal, no purpose, just existing living, making random decisions (the nonchalant-livers).

To the person who does not know where
he wants to go there is no favorable
wind.
Seneca the Younger

Life is definitely a journey.
I assume we all agree to this,
So I guess we would also agree on this, that: a man cannot go to the farm without his tools and expect to be as productive as when he does go with his tools, he just might not achieve anything at all. Except he is borrowed.

The same is with Life, once in a while we may meet people along the way who would help us with watering cans, machete, hoes, pesticides…. I think you get the point. The question is, what if we don’t?
What then do we do?
Or would we continue to wait till they appear?

If you haven’t gotten to that point where you can confidently ask yourself if you’re on the right track or not. Then you should ask yourself these questions:
– Who am I?
– What do I do?
– What can I do?
– What would I love to do?
– How better would I love to become at what I do and who I am?
– How can I become better?
– Who do I see myself become if I become better, learn, become more focused?
– What do I want to achieve in the nearest future?
– How can I achieve this?
– Who’s help do I need to achieve this?

It’s hard to get lost if you do know
where you’re going.
Jim Jarmusch

So by the answer of this questions, you should now be able to confidently ask yourself after some time… I’M I ON THE RIGHT TRACK?
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
“For without the wheel, is there no control. This question should wheel you in your journey as you go on.”

A couple of quotes:

If you do not know where you are
going, every road will get you nowhere.
Henry A. Kissinger

If you don’t know where you are, a map
won’t help.
Watts Humphrey

It is difficult to spread the contagion
of excitement without having a sense
of purpose and direction.
Daniel Goleman

Leave a Reply

